Does Hinge Have Incognito Mode? The Truth Behind Hinge’s Privacy Policy

Does Hinge have incognito mode? The free version doesn’t offer private browsing, but the paid versions of the app does offer privacy for its users. Scroll down for a complete analysis.

Written by Barsha Bhattacharya

Does Hinge Have Incognito Mode

Does Hinge have incognito mode? The free version doesn’t have any such mode. But you can always rely on the ‘Pause’ option to make the most of private browsing on the app. 

However, for users with paid subscriptions to Hinge X and Hinge +, private browsing is available. And based on my experience with the app and Hinge’s own Help Center, I’ve broken down private browsing on Hinge, highlighting the app’s privacy policy. 

Stay tuned. 

Does Hinge Have Incognito Mode? (2026)

No, Hinge does not have an incognito mode. Also, the dating app doesn’t have any private or hidden mode. Plus, the app’s help center does not list any such modes either. 

In fact, the closest thing to an incognito mode on Hinge is its Pause feature, which stops the app from showing a user’s profile to anyone new, while they can keep communicating with their current matches. 

Hinge’s Version Of Incognito Mode:

Hinge doesn’t use ‘Incognito Mode,’ as I just clarified. But the premium version of the app does have a feature that offers the same sort of control.

Frankly, this feature is literally Hinge’s solution for private browsing:

  1. Not everyone will see your Hinge profile in the app’s Discover section. So, you can limit who can actually see your profile. 
  2. This way, you can use this dating app on your terms. That way, you can be the first person to make a move.  

Who Can Access This Hinge Feature?

This incognito-like feature is not available for everyone. So, if you are using the app’s free version, then you will not be able to use this feature. 

It’s only available as part of Hinge’s paid plans, which means only HingeX and Hinge+ users can access this feature. 

How Can You Activate The Premium Incognito-Like Feature on Hinge?

With a premium plan, you can access this incognito-like feature on Hinge. And the app has made it super easy for users to switch who can see you and who cannot, whenever you want. 

That way, you can keep things private when you want, and when you are ready to be social, you can always come back to normal browsing. 

On that note, here’s how you can activate the incognito-like feature on Hinge:

  1. It all starts with ensuring you have a paid subscription for HingeX or Hinge+
  2. Open Hinge and navigate to ‘Settings.’
  3. Then, click on your username and visit ‘Account Settings.’
  4. Navigate to the section called ‘Profile Controls.’
  5. Here, you will get an option marked ‘Who sees you ’- click on this option. 
  6. Now, you will get some options, and you have to select the one marked ‘People I like.’
  7. When you click on this option, your Hinge profile will get hidden automatically from the app’s Discover feed. 

How Does Using This Feature Affect Your Hinge Matches?

So, if you use this feature, it doesn’t mean your existing matches will get impacted. You will be able to talk to anyone you have matched with already. And they can also see your profile and conversations. 

To make it clear, this feature will change who will be able to see you after you switch it on. It’s not about controlling your past matches. Rather, it’s about limiting your future matches.

What Will Others See?

When you are using this premium private mode, others will just stop seeing you on the app. It is almost like your profile will stop existing for them. 

Also, there’s no notification or any sort of indication that you are on Hinge but browsing the app privately. 

And this is truly the app’s incognito version. Nobody will be able to see you on Hinge unless you end up showing yourself by choosing to send someone a like.

You May Also Love To Read: When Do Hinge Likes Reset? My Swipe Strategy For Maximum Impact!

How To Use The Pause Feature On Hinge?

To use the pause feature on Hinge, here are the steps that you need to follow:

  1. Click on the photo icon located in the far right corner of your screen. 
  2. Then, click on the ‘gear’ icon. 
  3. Now switch the ‘pause’ button on. 
  4. If you want to unpause your account, then switch the button off. Also, you can click on ‘unpause profile’ located in the Discover section. 

What Pause Does Not Do? (As Per Hinge):

So, if you send someone a ‘like’ on Hinge and then pause your account, then they will still get the ‘like.’ And not just that, they can also match with you. 

Moreover, if you have a paid subscription to Hinge, then that subscription will not get paused and will keep running. 

Similarly, if you use the ‘Top Photos’ feature on Hinge, then it will keep testing as well, reordering your pictures. 

Also Check: Can You Send Pictures On Hinge? Better Safe Than Sorry!

Can You Hide Your Profile On Hinge And Keep Swiping?

TBH, it doesn’t happen in a way you would hope for it to happen. The only hiding tool on Hinge is the Pause feature. 

As per Hinge’s Help Center, “Pause stops your profile being shown to new people. Hinge doesn’t say you can keep browsing new profiles while paused. To turn it off, Hinge says you tap Unpause Profile on your Discover screen.”

However, as per the same page, here’s what works on Hinge after you have paused your profile on the app. 

  1. Users can keep talking with their existing matches. 
  2. The likes users have sent before pausing their account will still reach the intended person. Also, the person can match with the user as well. 
  3. Pausing a profile on Hinge will not pause the paid subscription, and the user will have to keep paying. 

As a result, if you want to swipe on Hinge but don’t want to get spotted by former partners or colleagues, then you can use the app’s Block List. With this list, you can hide some specific contacts from spotting you on Hinge. 

Other Privacy Settings On Hinge Worth Knowing:

In this context, it is only fair that I touch upon the other essential privacy settings on Hinge that you must know if you are on the app now.

  1. Block List: With this list, you can choose people from your contacts and block them from ever finding you on Hinge. The app promises that it will do its best to keep blocked contacts from coming across your profile. 
  1. Screenshot Blocking: There are some regions where Hinge blocks both screen recording and taking screenshots of other profiles on the app. 

Source: All the information on the page is up to date, considering we last checked Hinge’s Help Center of 13th November 2026.

 single page author card  image

Barsha Bhattacharya

Barsha has been actively writing about the complexities of modern love, communication, and emotional intimacy for the past 7 years. With a background in Literature and a passion for helping people build meaningful connections, Barsha covers topics such as emotional intelligence, conflict resolution, healthy boundaries, and dating in the digital age. When not writing, Barsha loves vague discussions, long rides, and a good cup of coffee.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *